Organization of the PhilInBioMed Network


The PhilInBioMed International Network is structured around three entities, the Members, the Steering Committee and the Scientific Committee. The members are at the heart of PhilInBioMeds activites. They collaborate on various subjects, exchange ideas and once a year they come together at the PhilInBioMed Network Meeting.


The Steering Committee


The Steering Committe is composed of 10 members, one from each of the founding institutions. It treats topics that pertain to the organizational structure or the general management of the network. Questions that might be adressed by the Steering Committe include the admission of new member institutions, the time and location of the next PhilInBioMed Network Meeting or the exchange of students and staff between the different member institutions.

The members of the Steering Committee are:


ImmunoConcept, CNRS & University of Bordeaux (France): Thomas Pradeu

 Institute for History and Philosophy of Science and Techniques (IHPST), CNRS & University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (France): Lucie Laplane


The Scientific Committee


The Scientific Committtee has an advisory role to the network. Its members are either philosophers who are interested in science and publish in science journals or scientists who publish in philosophy journals or have co-authored papers with philosophers.

The members of this committee accept:

i) to promote interactions between philosophy, biology, and medicine in their own research environment; 

ii) to be occaisionally solicited as referees for a limited number of abstract submissions for PhilInBioMed conferences or workshops

The members of the Scientific Committee are:


Ralph Adolphs

Ralph Adolphs is a Professor of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Biology at the California Institute of Technology. Furthermore he is the Director of the Emotion and Social Cognition Lab, which investigates the neural underpinnings of human social behavior.

Mina Bissell

Mina Bissell is the former head of life sciences at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. She has been recognized for her lifetime contributions to the fields of breast cancer research, the enhanced role of extracellular matrix (ECM) and the nucleus environment to gene expression in normal and malignant tissues.

Richard Creath

Richard Creath is a philosopher of science primarily interested in what makes one scientific claim more worth believing than another. He is President's Professor at the School of Life Science at the Arizona State University.

Ford Doolittle

Ford Doolittle is a Professor Emeritus at the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology of the Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada. His research examines prevailing concepts in genomics, molecular biology and microbial ecology, with regards to the understanding of evolution by natural selection.

Eugene Koonin

Eugene Koonin is a Senior Investigator at the National Center for Biotechnology Information and head of the Evolutionary Genomics Research Group. He is a member of the Scientific Committee of PhilInBiomed

Samir Okasha

Samir Okasha is Professor of Philosophy of Science at the University of Bristol (UK). He is a specialist of foundational and conceptual questions surrounding evolutionary theory.

Ken Schaffner

Kenneth F. Schaffner is Distinguished University Professor at the Department of History and Philosophy of Science of the University of Pittsburgh, USA. He is a specialist of philosophy of biology and philosophy of medicine.

Elliott Sober

Elliott Sober is Hans Reichenbach Professor and William F. Vilas Research Professor in the Department of Philosophy at University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA. He is one of the founders of the field of philosophy of biology, and a specialist of evolution.

Michel Vervoort

Michel Vervoort is a Professor in Biology (Evolution, Genetics, Eco-Devo) at Paris-Diderot University and Institut Jacques Monod, and co-leader of the team "Evolution and Development of Metazoans", Paris, France.